My Dream Team

31 Aug

image

(left to right: Ann Marie McGuire, Lauren Serechin, Dr. D’Alesio, Jessica Belcher, Heather Cook, Kristen Martin)

This post is long overdue. Recently, we were featured in Pittsburgh Magazine’s “Top Dentists in Pittsburgh” issue. This, in no small way, is due to my awesome team here at Steel Valley Smiles. Without these amazing women there is no Steel Valley Smiles. I can’t thank them enough for all of their hard work and commitment to excellence. On a daily basis, each one of these individuals contributes their unique talents and work ethic to keep our dental office running smoothly and efficiently. Not to mention, they make it one of the friendliest and most fun places to go to work each day. Yes, there are stressful moments just like any other workplace, but laughter and teamwork are the beautiful combination that gets us through the day. Just as I’m dedicated to my continuing education and implementation of technology, I’m equally dedicated to making sure my patients receive only the best in dental care. This is made possible by my team. Their professionalism, compassion and attention to cleanliness lets our patients know that they are in good hands.

We have two full-time dental hygienists, Lauren Serechin and Ann Marie McGuire. Lauren has been with me the longest. She’s been a hygienist at SVS for going on 9 years. She’s a fantastic hygienist but more important she’s genuine and kind and has a natural ability to connect with the patients. Her cool, calm and collective nature balances me out. Also, she always comes to me with great ideas for the office and she knows eventually I’ll agree with her 🙂  Ann Marie was my chairside assistant for a few years before she went off to dental hygiene school at Pitt. Now, along with Lauren, she is an excellent hygienist and is clearly passionate about what she does. Patients appreciate this passion and have come to expect her enthusiasm when it comes to educating and encouraging them on their oral hygiene. She’s our “floss-enforcer”:)

I have two chairside/floating dental assistants, Heather Cook and Kristen Martin. Heather has been with me since 2007. To say she’s hard-working is an understatement. She’s with me chairside when I’m treating patients and keeps me on track throughout the day. She knows how to get things done and during a procedure she knows what I need before I know what I need. And when I get out of line she’ll hit me over the head pretty hard with a very large toothbrush 🙂  Our newest member is Kristen. She immediately fit in with our team and due to her warm personality the patients feel very comfortable around her. She brought with her years of experience as a dental assistant and is bringing our level of customer service/patient care to the next level. She’s very assertive and has a “go get’em” attitude that is very much appreciated. We’re very lucky to have her on board!

Last but not least is our office manager, Jessica Belcher. She’s what you call a “quick study”. This girl had zero dental experience two years ago. Today, she’s the quarterback of our team. As the office manager she’s in charge of our daily game plan, runs our schedule like clockwork and occasionally has to call an audible. She’s the youngest one of the group so naturally she’s our computer wiz. On top of making sure our day runs smoothly, she greets each patient with a big smile and friendly attitude that cannot be taught. She has a very bright future!

I hit the jackpot to say the least. Who could ask for a better group of people to surround myself with? Along with being professionals, these women are mothers, wives, and homemakers. They have a lot to be proud of. I know I’m proud of them and can’t thank them enough. Thanks for reading, Joe D’Alesio DDS

2 Responses to “My Dream Team”

  1. Christine Capp May 27, 2015 at 2:07 am #

    Loved reading this about the girls! They truly are great at what they do. We miss you!
    Tom and Chris Capp

    • joedalesio May 31, 2015 at 9:39 am #

      We miss you guys too! Hope you’re doing well Chris. Dr. Joe

Leave a comment